You are here
Home > Corporate News > Standard Chartered Bank launches Agrow Award 2017

Standard Chartered Bank launches Agrow Award 2017

Standard Chartered Bank, Bangladesh Wednesday officially announced the commencement of Standard Chartered Agrow Award 2017.

The bank made the announcement at a press conference Wednesday at the Pan Pacific Sonargaon Hotel. Bangladesh Brand Forum is the implementation partner of the bank in this initiative.

The Agrow Award will recognize the best performing individuals and institutions for their significant contributions to the agriculture sector of the country. Bitopi Das Chowdhury, Country Head of Corporate Affairs, Standard Chartered Bank, Bangladesh and MrShariful Islam, Founder & Managing Director, Bangladesh Brand Forum, spoke at the press conference.

This year, awards will be presented in seven different categories, namely Farmer of the Year – Male, Farmer of the Year – Female, Farmer of the Year – Subsistence Market Farmer Group, Best Agricultural Organization in Research & Innovation, Best Agricultural Organization in Support & Execution, Best Agricultural Exporter, and Best Use of Technology in Agriculture.

Speaking at the press conference, MsBitopi Das Chowdhury said, “We are delighted to be having this award for the fourth time. Through this award, we hope to honour individuals and institutions who serve as outstanding examples in the agriculture sector of Bangladesh.” She added, “Over the last few decades, our agriculture sector has made giant strides forward. With our involvement in this sector as the oldest financial institution in the country, and through initiatives such as the Agrow Award, it has been a privilege for us to be a part of this remarkable growth story.”

In his speech, MrShariful Islam explained the philosophy behind the initiative of Agrow Award. He shared that Bangladesh agriculture sector is an exemplary model in sustainable food production to the rest of the world, and Agrow Award recognizes the farmers and institutions who are relentlessly working to meet this vital need of a growing population.

He added that the crucial process of selecting the best performers in each category will be carried out this year too with full transparency, objectivity and accountability to live upto the promises of credibility which the award as has already established. ‘This year, Agrow Award 2017 starts with the countrywide call for nomination, moves on to primary selection, shortlisting and verification, expert jury sessions, final selection, and eventually the award handover,’ explained MrShariful.

He also added that along with the crest, the winners of farmer categories will be honoured with prize money of taka five lacs each to help them expand their contribution to agriculture. Honourable mentions in each farmer category will be given taka fifty thousand each.

Also, present at the conference were last year’s winners: AbdusSattar Sana, Farmer of the Year – Male category, and MsHosneAra Begum, Farmer of the Year – Female category. The winners shared their success stories and how they have been utilizing the prize money to increase their farming activities.The award ceremony of Agrow Award 2017 will take place in November, this year.

For nomination submission: Call-01671366544, 01743836608; Email-; Visit-